News >> Zimmerman collects another win
Sunday, July 11, 2010 6:24:37 AM
Click HERE for 10 minutes of highlights
Click HERE for the July 10 photo gallery.
Sprint Car winner Doug Zimmerman
Zimmerman does it again in sprint cars
  Doug Zimmerman is a man on a mission this season at Butler Speedway. Zimmerman used another high-side pass to become the first repeat winner of the season in the winged sprints at Butler (Mi.) Speedway. Other feature checkers went to Chance Hoppes (UMP Modifieds), Logan Beckwith (Sportsman), and Jarrett Rendel (Street Stocks).
  Zimmerman started inside the front row for the winged sprint feature, but it was 71-year-old Gerry Hart that would lead in the early going from a starting spot on the outside of row 1. Hart, running his best race of the season, would lead the opening three laps. Zimmerman would streak around the outside of Hart in turns 3 and 4 and never relinquished the lead the rest of the way, despite an extremely close call on lap 6 when he bounced off the turn 4 wall avoiding a lapped car.
  Hart and Mackey spent much of the race in a battle for second. Mackey finally was able to get by late in the race and had his chance at Zimmerman when a caution bunched the field in the late going. But Zimmerman was able to hold Mackey at bay and recorded his third feature victory of the season. Mackey was second, with Hart third, Shelby Bilton fourth, and last week's winner Mark Aldrich placing fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Brad Wickham, Greg Wheeler, Ken Quimby, Dan Hall, and Mike Koss. Heat races in the winged sprints were won by Mackey, Zimmerman, and Dan Hall.
  Chance Hoppes started outside of Kevan Free in the front row of the UMP Modified feature. Free led a good portion of the event until Hoppes ducked underneath on a restart. Contact was made, knocking Free back several spots, and he would eventually finish 10th after getting caught up in a turn 4 mishap and having to restart at the tail. Hoppes led the remainder of the way, scoring his first Butler win of 2010. Josh Lolmaugh was second, with Brian Przepiora coming all the way from a the seventh row to place third. Following were Brian Lolmaugh, John Swift, Mike Patrick, Corey Bevard, Mike Langdon, Jessi Sroufe, and Free. Modified heats went to Hoppes, Greg Socha, and Steve Shellenberger. Terry Stratton won the 'B' Main.
  Dwayne Feltner and points leader Marty French made up the front row for the sportsman feature. Feltner jumped to the lead at the outset, with sixth-starting Beckwith quickly moving into the fray at the front. Beckwith hounded Feltner for several laps unsuccessfully until finally getting past on a restart. However, a caution nullified the pass, with the restart order reverting to the last completed lap. Feltner then was able to hold back Beckwith on the restart, which saw Eric Swan slide off turn 1. But a few laps later Feltner would spin in turn 2, ending his hopes for a win. Beckwith would hold the lead the rest of the way.
  French remained out front in the standings with a second-place finish. Tim Wilber was third, with Jake Rendel fourth, and Feltner finishing fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Wes Bates, Fred Speck, Cameron Hoaglin, Matt Bell, and Ryan Crandall. Sportsman heat races were won by French and Beckwith.
  In the street stocks, Jarrett Rendel ducked under Shawn McFeters at the end of the opening circuit and would lead throughout. Rendel, a two-time champ in the class, collected his first win of the 2010 season. Ron McCumbers came from a fourth-row starting spot to finish second, while Glenn Heath and Jeff Beaty came from deep in the pack to take third and fourth. The remainder of the top 10 were Jeremy Lutz, Keith Hiller, Chris Garrett, Jon Smith, Walter Otis, and Kevin Butters. Heat races in the street stocks were won by Heath, Hiller, McCumbers, and Beaty. Checkers in the 'B' Mains went to Otis and Sheryll Dishaw.
Logan Beckwith
Jarrett Rendel

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links