News >> Irwin wins MTS event
Sunday, July 18, 2010 5:21:53 AM
July 31 Winners
Gregg Dalman (winged sprints), Brian Przepiora (UMP Mods), Tim Wilber (sportsman), Jarrett Rendel (street stocks)
August 14 -- Sprints on Dirt
Plus Sportsman & Street Stocks - (No Modifieds)
See video highlights of the July 17 MTS feature race HERE
See photos from July 17 HERE

MTS Winner Steve Irwin
Irwin wins MTS event
Steve Irwin is on a hot streak.
For the second-straight event with the Lane Automotive MTS Sprint Series, the defending champion led every lap on the way to victory. Irwin led all 25 laps on Saturday at Butler (Mi.) Speedway in the second half of the third-annual Ohio vs. Michigan Challenge. He also led every lap of the feature at Thunderbird (Mi.) Raceway.

Other feature winners on Saturday at Butler Speedway were Mike Tarlton (UMP Modifieds) and Glenn Heath (Street Stocks).

Justin Martin started on the pole for Butler's only sprint car race of 2010 without wings. Irwin sat outside of the front row and quickly assumed the lead. Martin held second until sliding high in turn 2, giving the spot to former Butler champ Chuck Wilson, who spent the rest of the race trailing Irwin.

Wilson did manage to pull alongside Irwin on a couple of occasions, but never was able to find a way around. Mike Galajda, the 2008 MTS champ, was third at the checker, with Mark Irwin fourth and Mike Jonas fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Keith Love, Ernie Kuehnemann, Jr., Tim Evilsizer, Chad Wilson, and Mike Burkin. Heat races were won by Irwin, Martin, and Jonas.

Ohio driver Ryan Ordway was the show in the early going of the UMP Modified feature. Making his first appearance at Butler, Ordway won his heat race and moved to the outside of the front row for the feature after the initial start went yellow. Ordway jumped out front on the second try and then would hold Tarlton at bay for 15 laps, with Matt Corliss also moving into the fray. But with Tarlton alongside, Ordway spun in turn 1 on the 16th circuit and eventually would finish 14th. It was Tarlton's race from there; Dave Sibberson moved up to second but had his hands full with Corliss. A caution with two laps remaining bunched the field and gave Sibberson a last shot at Tarlton, but the Indiana hotshoe sped away on the restart and went on to claim his first Butler feature checker of 2010. Tarlton was the 2009 points runner-up in the class.
At the checker, it was Tarlton, Sibberson, Corliss, defending champ Tommy Beezley, and Dave Reay. The rest of the top 10 were Kevan Free, Greg Socha, Jon Hadley, Brian Przepiora, and John Swift. Heat races in the modifieds were won by Free, Beezley, and Ordway. Jake Rendel took the 'B' Main.

Street stock division points leader Glenn Heath took his third feature checker, leading the final two laps of the race. Todd Smith and Brad Crose made up the front row for the feature, with Smith leading the first half of the event. Sixth-row starter Jeff Beaty made his way to the front and twice made the pass for the lead, only to see a caution flag fly, with the race reverting to the last completed lap for a restart. Finally, Beaty was able to duck under in turns 1 & 2 and he would hold the point until diving to the infield with mechanical problems two laps from the finish. Heath, who started in the fifth row, had been trailing Beaty and the former champ inherited the lead. Following Heath at the finish were Crose, Jeff Burroughs, defending champ Bob Rendel, and Sheryll Dishaw. The remainder of the top 10 were David Collins, Jr., Keith Hiller, John Ruby, Elzie Kipp, and Todd Smith. Heat races were won by Heath, Walter Otis, Ron McCumbers, and Chris Garrett. The 'B' Main was won by Burroughs.


UMP Modified winner Mike Tarlton
Street Stock Winner Glenn Heath
Rookie driver Duane Jewitt (72) spun in front of leader Jarrett Rendel during Saturday's street stock heats. Rendel, a former champ in the class, was unable to avoid the spun car and suffered damage that ended his night.

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links