News >> Dalman leads way on Oldtimers Night
Monday, August 02, 2010 3:19:00 AM

Brian Przepiora won his first career modified feature at Butler Speedway on Saturday.
Dalman takes Butler sprint checker

  Three drivers took their first Butler Speedway checkers of 2010 on Saturday at Butler Speedway as the track played host to Oldtimers Night. First time winners were Gregg Dalman (winged sprints), Brian Przepiora (UMP Modifieds), and Tim Wilber (Sportsman). Taking his second win of the season was Jarrett Rendel (Street Stocks).
  Mark Aldrich and Mike Burns started up front for the 25-lap winged sprint feature, while points leaders Ken Mackey and Doug Zimmerman made up the second row. Aldrich took the early lead, while Mackey made his way to second by the end of the opening lap. Three laps into the event Mackey would duck under Aldrich entering turn 1, and the nine-time track champ took off in the quest for his first feature victory of the 2010 season.
  Meanwhile, Dalman was making a quick move to the front from a third-row starting spot and passed Aldrich for second on a lap 4 restart, and then set sail for Mackey. Near the midway point of the event Dalman finally was able to close in, and on the 18th circuit he attempted to go under Mackey on the backstretch, only to be turned away. But a lap later Dalman made the same move, and this time was successful. He would lead the rest of the way to record the win. Mackey was second at the checker, followed by Chad Blonde, Mark Broughman, and Aldrich. The rest of the top 10 were Sean Robinson, Shelby Bilton, Jared Horstman, Aaron Smith, and Dan Hall. Heat races in the winged sprints were won by Aldrich, Blonde, and Mackey. The 'B' Main went to Rocky LoPresto.
  Tim Wilber, a former champion in the late models at Butler, held off defending sportsman champ Logan Beckwith in the main event for that class. Wilber was campaigning the car driven earlier this season to two victories by Eric Swan. Wilber started on the pole and led every lap. Beckwith lined up sixth for the start and moved into second when Dwayne Feltner spun out. Beckwith was on Wilber's tail much of the final stages of the race, but never was able to get alongside Wilber. Making his first appearance of the season, former champ Scott Gaff was third, with Jake Rendel fourth and Marty French fifth. Completing the top 10 were Steve Langdon, Dwayne Feltner, Fred Speck, and Terry Wilber. Sportsman division heat race wins went to Tim Wilber and Ryan Crandell.
  Przepiora and Corey Bevard made up the front row for the UMP Modified feature. Bevard used a great effort to jump ahead at the outset, with Przepiora in tow. Bevard would lead through several early cautions, although the lead duo would race side-by-side for several laps. But Bevard headed for the pits on a lap 5 caution, handing the lead to Przepiora, who drove a stellar race the remainder of the way to take his first mod checker. Defending modified champ Tommy Beezley came from a sixth-row starting spot to finish second. Jake Rendel was third, with Josh Lolmaugh fourth and Dave Reay fifth. Sixth through 10th were Jon Hadley, Tim Dalman, Chance Hoppes, Mike Langdon, and Greg Socha. Modified heat races were won by Beezley, Langdon, Reay, and John Brooks. 'B' Main checkers went to Tim Dalman and Pat Ehlert.
  Brandon Hyliard and Keith Hiller led the street stocks to the green flag in their feature event. Hyliard led Hiller until the two made contact on the frontstretch, with both cars experiencing problems, sending Hyliard to the pits to change a flat tire. Two-time champion Jarrett Rendel took over the point, while father Bob Rendel, the defending champion, moved to second. It looked like a 1-2 finish for the Rendels until a backstretch mishap took out Bob Rendel. The lead pack went just three laps following a race stoppage and already had caught up with backmarkers Elzie Kipp and Bobbi Ward, sending the leaders scrambling. Bob Rendel got the worst of the deal, hitting the dirt embankment that surrounds the caution light, ending is race night, Kipp and Ward were able to continue and finished 11th and 12th.
  Jarrett Rendel would lead the rest of the way following the crash and went on to record his second win of 2010 at the track. Points leader Glenn Heath was second, with Chris Garrett third, Walter Otis fourth, and Brandon Hyliard fifth. The rest of the top 10 were Hiller, Steve Kidney, Jr., Daren Slone, Bruce Stephens, and Sean Shiery. Heat race checkers in the class went to Heath, Kidney, Jr., and Jeff Burroughs. The 'B' Mains were won by Sheryll Dishaw and Matt Prater.

Video highlights of the winged sprints on July 31 can be found HERE
Video highlights of the modifieds on July 31 can be found HERE
Video highlights of the sportsman on July 31 can be found HERE
More victory lane photos from July 31 can be found HERE

Corey Bevard pilots the Braithwaite Flyer during Oldtimers Night.

 Tim Wilber won the July 31 Sportsman feature.
 Jarrett Rendel won the July 31 Street Stock feature.
 Another member of the Prater family makes their way to victory lane at Butler Speedway as Matt Prater takes a checker on July 31.

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links