News >> SOD makes second Butler stop
Sunday, August 15, 2010 4:29:40 AM

August 28 winners: Dan Hall (winged sprints), Jake Rendel (modifieds), Jake Rendel (sportsman) & Todd Thoms (street stocks)


Video Highlights from the August 14 visit by the Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt can be found HERE
Photos from the SOD show and victory lane photos from all the classes can be found HERE

 Ryan Grubaugh (3w) passes Ben Rutan for Saturday's win.
 Grubaugh takes Engine Pro ASCS SOD win
  ASCS Sprints on Dirt points leader Ryan Grubaugh claimed his first series win of 2010 on Saturday night at Michigan's Butler Speedway. Grubaugh, who won an unsanctioned race earlier this season at the track, passed Ben Rutan with eight laps remaining of the 25-lap feature event and never looked back.
  Grubaugh's victory ended Dustin Daggett's five-race win streak in Engine Pro ASCS SOD competition.
  Other feature winners were Logan Beckwith in the sportsman class and Glenn Heath in the street stocks.
  Rutan and Grubaugh made up the front row for the feature event, with Daggett in the third row. Rutan jumped to the early lead, with Grubaugh second and Ken Mackey third. By the fifth circuit Daggett made his way to third, and was able to close behind the lead duo when Jim Lingar brought out the first caution. Daggett spent the next five laps challenging Grubaugh for the runner-up spot until Robert Huisken flew off turn 4, bring out the race's second yellow flag.
  Once the race resumed, Grubaugh began to make his move for the lead. On lap 12 and again on lap 15 he pulled alongside the leader, but was unable to get by the rim-riding Rutan. But on lap 17 he ducked underneath in turns 1 and 2 and was able to make it stick. Once out front, Grubaugh weaved through lapped traffic to record the win. Rutan and Daggett battled for second in the final laps, with Rutan taking the honors. At the checker it was Grubaugh, Rutan, Daggett, Mackey, and Brett Mann. The rest of the top 10 were Jared Horstman, Gregg Dalman, Ron Blair, Dain Naida, and Sean Robinson.
  Heat races for the SOD series were won by Grubaugh, Mackey, and Mann. Daggett won the dash, and the 'B' Main was captured by Davey Brown.
  Logan Beckwith had a weekend to remember. On Friday at Spartan Speedway behind the wheel of a pavement late model, he set quick time and started on the tail of the feature and won the event. On Saturday at Butler he started from the fourth row, made his way to third, and then benefitted when the leaders made contact.
  Front-row starter Dwayne Feltner led through the opening 11 laps, while sportsman points leader Marty French held second in the first half of the race. On a lap 12 restart the two got together in turn 2, giving Beckwith a wide open track. He drove under the melee and into the lead, and from there the defending sportsman champ went unscathed to victory lane.
Feltner regrouped to finish second, while French dropped to eighth. Mike Langdon, normally a competor in the modified class, came on strong to take second at the checker. Wes Bates was third, with Ryan Crandell in fifth. Sixth through 10th were Bob Austin, Chris Osbourne, French, Jarrett Rendel, and Steve Langdon. Heat race wins in the sportsman went to Feltner and Beckwith.
  Glenn Heath has been a man on mission in the street stocks this season at Butler. He added to his points lead in the class with a flag-to-flag victory in dominating style. Two-time champ Jarrett Rendel was second at the checker, Brandon Hyliard finished third, Todd Thoms was fourth, and Jeremy Lutz claimed fifth after a strong race that saw him a high as third in the running order. Completing the top 10 were Sheryll Dishaw, Walter Otis, Joe Elliott, Bob Rendel, and David Collins, Jr.
  The street stocks held a pursuit race, with Hyliard leading the way and Todd Thoms taking second. Heat races in the class were won by Heath, Thoms, and Keith Hiller. The 'B' Main was won by Shawn McFeters.
Butler Speedway returns to racing on August 21 with a four-division show of winged sprints, UMP modifieds, sportsman, and street stocks.

  Ryan Grubaugh in victory lane at Butler Speedway.
 Logan Beckwith notched another sportsman division feature.
  Glenn Heath won the Street Stock 'A' Main
  Shawn McFeters won the street stock 'B' Main
  Brandon Hyliard won the street stock "pursuit" race. 

View All Past News Articles for Butler Speedway

Home Page | Racing Schedule | Directions | Rules | Photo Gallery | Results | Standings | Track History | News Archives | Sponsors | Advertising Information | Registration | Driver Information | Racing Links